The Memory Board at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

The Memory Board at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (http://library.cshl.edu/wp/vb/index.php)
-   Visitors (http://library.cshl.edu/wp/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Barbara McClintock - Women in Science (http://library.cshl.edu/wp/vb/showthread.php?t=556)

Nancy Hopkins 01-23-2006 10:52 AM

Barbara McClintock - Women in Science

Barbara [McClintock] was one of these paradoxical people. Whatever you heard about Barbara, the opposite is also true. Barbara loved people and sought them out.
I met Barbara when I was young, and just coming into Cold Spring Harbor for the first time. I was a graduate student and she was about 70 years old. I think she was having a crisis in her life and I could see that she needed someone to talk to. She seemed quite unhappy at that time. Perhaps she saw in me a young woman scientist, and therefore someone she could talk to. In any case, she seemed to be reliving some very difficult years of having to be a woman scientist at a time when it was so extremely difficult for women in science. She wanted to tell me how painful this had been for her. For example, how she would be asked to sit outside the door while the men would discuss her results, and how at first she couldn't get a job except in a home economics department, and so forth. So she used to seek me out to talk about this, and she was terribly distressed about it, but of course, I didn't know her well at all yet and I was pretty young. I thought biology was wonderful and I was going to have a wonderful life, and I didn't want to hear about her terribly hard time, because [I thought] it wasn't going to happen to me! It was very painful for me to hear her talk about how hard a time she had had.