The Memory Board at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

The Memory Board at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (http://library.cshl.edu/wp/vb/index.php)
-   Scientific Staff (http://library.cshl.edu/wp/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Memories from CSHL: Adenoviral RNA organization (http://library.cshl.edu/wp/vb/showthread.php?t=197)

Luis F. Jimenez-Garcia 03-02-2003 10:52 AM

Memories from CSHL: Adenoviral RNA organization

While I was at Baylor College of Medicine at Texas Medical Center in Houston, Texas in 1986 performing my PhD thesis under Dr. Robert Ochs as a visiting student of the National University of Mexico, I attended a seminar by David Spector, who was at that time working at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. After that excellent seminar I thought I wanted to do research under him after I completed my PhD. After I received my PhD in Mexico, I wrote to David and asked to join him as a posdoctoral fellow. By 1992, I finally arranged to be in New York. In a letter David wrote to me, he stated that if I came to Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, I was going to be exposed to state-of-the-art technology. I did not imagine that I was indeed going to be exposed to that and also to the opportunity to meet many very important people in science.

At that time, David was opening the door to a novel view of nuclear structure under the optics of cellular organization of splicing. When I came first to CSHL, fortunately, I met Richard Roberts and I realized the importance of splicing. Afterwards, I was involved in a project regarding adenoviral RNA organization into infected cells. That investigation derived from the conclusion that splicing factors were recruited to active sites of transcription in vivo. But many things happened during that time, both personally and scientifically. In fact, that was a time that was very touchy in my future thinking as a cell biologist.